Management Board

The Management Board, comprising city and town managers and utility directors, is a formal body established by the AMWUA Bylaws to make recommendations to the Board of Directors. It is customary for the Executive Director to take proposed policy decisions to the Management Board before they are discussed with the Board of Directors.

Mr. John Knudson, Chairman

Municipal Utilities Director

City of Chandler


Mr. Brian Biesemeyer

Water Director

City of Scottsdale


Ms. Cindy Blackmore

Public Works Director

City of Avondale


Mr. David Burks

Interim Deputy Director - Water Services Department

City of Peoria


Mr. Craig Johnson

Water Services Director

City of Glendale

Ms. Jessica Marlow, P.E.

Public Works Director

Town of Gilbert


Ms. Karen Peters

Deputy City Manager

City of Phoenix


Ms. Holly Rosenthal

Public Works Deputy Director - Water Utilities Division

City of Tempe


Mr. Javier Setovich, Vice-Chairman

Public Works Director

City of Goodyear


Mr. Jake West

Water Resources Director

City of Mesa

Technical Advisory Groups

The Technical Advisory Groups provide input and guidance to the Executive Director and the Board of Directors.

Water Resources Advisory Group

The Water Resources Advisory Group comprises water resources planners, policy advisors, and managers. The WRAG meets regularly to vet information, share viewpoints, discuss strategies, and attempt to reach unified positions for recommendation to the Executive Director. This group focuses on the development and analysis of water policy and supply management strategies.

Conservation Committee

The Conservation Committee includes member staffs as well as partner representatives from the Arizona Department of Water Resources, the Bureau of Reclamation, CAP, SRP, Tucson Water, city of Flagstaff, and the University of Arizona Cooperative Extension. The Committee shares information, discusses issues, and facilitates cooperation and coordination in the development and implementation of regional water efficiency, conservation, and sustainability efforts.